resolutions

I may look like I’m just relaxing here, but I’m really deep in thought.  There are only a few days left until New Year’s Day, and I still need to decide on a resolution.  I know it’s hard to believe, but even an exceptional feline like myself can come up with a few things to work on.  Here are some ideas I’ve been kicking around…

I will try hard to remember that Kitty is old and frail while I’m playing with her.  (I wouldn’t want to offend Kitty or embarrass her by treating her like an elderly cat.  Maybe I should skip this one.)

I will finish my first manuscript.  (Art doesn’t happen on a schedule.  Scratch that.)

I will focus 100% on my career.  (What about napping and hunting geckos?  And grooming?  I’m not sure this is realistic.)

I will lose half a pound.  (Would that mean no gecko snacks, or tidbits snuck out of the fridge???)

I will not break any curtain rods or other decorative accessories that are affixed to walls.  (Would that mean no gecko snacks, or tidbits snuck out of the fridge???)

I won’t wake up my human before sunrise.  (Do humans really need that much sleep?  I should google that before I commit.)

I will reduce my carbon footprint.  (I’m not entirely sure what that means.  But everyone thinks little kitty footprints are adorable, and I wouldn’t want to deprive my human of that joy.  Or anyone else, for that matter.)

I will organize cats everywhere to work towards world peace.  (I’m a charismatic leader, but organizing cats might be too much even for me.)

I will contact Maru’s human to suggest he sees a dermatologist for that mole.  

22 comments on “resolutions

  1. Pedro – I have tried to get my cats to make resolution, but no luck. Any tips? BTW – I read a comment you posted on Idiot Speaketh blog where you mentioned your human had Anyklosing Spondylitis. What are the odds — I too have that little gem. Small world.

    • Aloha Msmouse! Some cats are just underachievers. If you’ve suggested that they make New Year’s resolutions and they ignored you, I would drop the subject before you find hairballs on your pillow… I did tell the Idiot about my human’s AS – congratulations to you for winning that in the health lottery as well. 😉 My human’s been feeling pretty spry these days, and I hope you are, too.

  2. Pedro, I’ve been trying to come up with a resolution too. Not easy is it……I’m thinking maybe something simple like trying not to kick so much litter out of my box after I’ve – ummm – er – well, you know – “used” it. It’s such a small thing yet would impact my Mom in a BIG way. If I come up with something YOU might be able to use, I’ll pass it on. You look very contemplative in that photo – I do my best thinking while relaxing too!

    Your Bud……..Sammy

  3. Well, Pedro, I guess I need to work on my resolutions. Maybe Mom would let me borrow her blog for a day next week to post them.
    Now I have to do a little thinking…. hope I can stay awake long enough to work on that.
    Have a good day!
    Sundae

  4. I love how you are realistic about your resolutions. I’ve been recycling the same resolutions for years.

    LOL. Poor Maru.

    Chun has resolved to support me with his modeling career, and Sprocket has resolved to grow to 16 lbs.

  5. Pedro……Do you, like my kitties, love to walk on human’s car and leave little pawprints? I love your ideas for resolutions……I’m with you on losing a bit of weight. I just don’t like the idea of having to actually do exercises as I work out enough at home and at work. Now my husband….that’s a different story, mol!!! Shhhh….don’t tell him I said anything, okay?? Love your blogs….happy new year!!

  6. Pedro, once again you have wowed me with your insight. And backpedaling on each resolutions is pure genius. It keeps the thought without the commitment. You should patent that. Think of all the money rolling in while you nap.

    Cheers,
    Duke

  7. Pedro, wasn’t it organizing cats for world domination? I must have missed the memo. I’m still working on the domination plan. Do I need to change course? Are you sure? Your friend –Bugs

    • Hey there, Bugs! I was thinking about world peace as a stepping stone towards domination. Once the humans are peaceful and full of kindness towards each other and everything furry, then we make our move.

Comments are closed.