oops!

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I have a hobby.  I dabble in the culinary arts.  Most of my role in the kitchen is supervisory, since I’m lacking thumbs.  My human was nice enough to built me a shelf where I can sit while I critique her work, which saves me from accidental staining and singeing.  We have a nice partnership in the kitchen…  Or had a nice partnership, that is…

I’m not entirely sure how this happened. I do know that my human obviously skimped and didn’t get the drywall anchors rated for plus-sized cats.

20 comments on “oops!

    • Ooh – you’ve given me a fantastic idea! I should hire someone to be my sherpa. They could carry me around in the kitchen so I can supervise EVERYTHING. I don’t need a new shelf, I need more staff!

  1. Uh oh…..at least when the shelf fell you didn’t land in a big bowl of spaghetti – talk about staining! Perhaps your very own stool would be a better option than something “wall-dependent” ???

    Your Bud Sammy

    • True, Sammy. Anything tomato based would have left me pink for eons! I do seem to have trouble with things that are “wall-dependent”, don’t I… Towel racks, curtain rods, my cooking platform, the shower curtain rod, framed photos. None of them seem to have been designed with a cat like me in mind…

  2. Pedro: Sue the contractor. This was totally foreseeable. Your causes of action are: Negligence or reckless disregard, building without a license, and intentional infliction of emotional distress. The latter probably won’t fly but stick it in there just in case. Fair’s fair. You’ve been traumatized. Oh yes. Remember to claim the psychiatrist bills as part of your damages.

    • Should I sue the contractor or the shelf installer? I would think the shelf installer is at fault, but her pockets aren’t very deep. Maybe Home Depot for selling defective anchors???

      It’d be great if I could get someone to pay for my shrink. I’m among America’s uninsured, and the therapy is getting expensive!

  3. Doh! That must have been an unexpected surprise. Hopefully a replacement shelf with the right stability anchors will be quickly installed so you can back to supervising.

  4. While I’m no handyman, I’d suggest putting the supports right into a stud rather than between them. Harder to install, but it won’t fall down unless the wall does.

  5. Oh noes! I hope she fixes the shelf because that is such a wonderful idea. Chun loves to help me cook and since I don’t have a separate shelf for him he will sit right on the counter and put whiskers and floof into the food which is fine if I’m the only one eating but makes it rather tricky when I want to bake cookies for friends.

Comments are closed.